Nehemiah 6

When the wall was finished, but the gates not yet hung, Sanballat, Tobiah, and Geshun renewed their conspiring against me. They tried many times to lure me into the fields to murder me even. Eventually Sanballat sent me an open letter accusing me of setting myself up as king in Judah! Of rebelling against my most noble sovereign, Artaxerxes!

Of course I vehemently denied such baseless accusations and resisted the machinations of Sanballat’s secret ally, the priest Shemaiah, who tried to convince me to hide in the Temple like a coward.

Despite Sanballat’s and Tobiah’s puerile attempts to discredit me, despite the deviousness of their many spies, work on the wall was completed. Hear me God, and remember the stumbling blocks these sinners threw down to hinder your great work!

Leave a Reply

